Out with the Old and In with the New

Hearts Jan 14 1L

Hearts for Valentine’s Day

Happy New Year and let’s hope that it will be a happy, energetic and successful one for everyone.

I had a particularly hectic run up to Christmas and to be honest I ran out of steam a little bit towards the end but I’m happy to say I think I managed about 95% of the work I needed to finish by that time. I am hoping that I will have a couple of quieter months to regroup, plan and prepare for the year ahead.

What a year it’s going to be too! First and foremost a new studio. I need the space. I am falling over myself in my converted garage so I have put a deposit down on a log cabin and we take delivery in a couple of weeks or so. Oh I can’t wait. Next will be a bigger kiln. I love my little workhorse but it has limitations. I would like a controller, mine has a kiln-sitter and secondly capacity, it’s just too small. I will keep it though as it’s very useful for drying pots and warming them up prior to Raku firing.

I have been working on new shapes and designs. The first few are coming through the studio now. This is a small bowl. I have deliberately left off a foot ring.

S Bowls L

DSC_0539L

These are the first couple I’ve taken through to Raku firing.

My first two Raku firings of the year have been taken up by Hearts for Valentine’s Day (see the top) and already the time is starting to accelerate. Hold on to your hats everyone!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Out with the Old and In with the New

  1. julietmacleod

    Oooh so exciting. I’m hoping that a new studio may materialise for me too. Keep us posted on the log cabin, i’ve been looking at shed brochures for ages. Happy New Year – here’s to a great one. *oh and pots look gorgeous by the way*

    Reply
    1. Debbie Barber Post author

      Thanks Juliet I most certainly will let you know how I get on with the cabin/studio. I looked at doing this a couple of years ago but didn’t have the confidence to go for it then. We have taken advantage of a January Sale price even though we’re not ready with the base. We’ve seen a couple of builders who say they can do it so keep your fingers crossed that the weather is kind. I’m really excited about all this! (I think you can tell)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

